
The iPhone 11 Pro Max (left) and the Galaxy S20 Ultra.
Angela Lang/CNET
After Samsung’s launch event in February, preorders for Samsung’s three new Galaxy S20 phones have kicked off. The phones are set to ship out today and of the three, the Galaxy S20 Ultra is Samsung’s most premium. Its hardware includes monster camera specs, a generously sized 6.9-inch display and a 5,000-mAh battery. The phone also has a high price tag, starting at $1,399.
But the Galaxy S20 Ultra isn’t the only premium phone around. Samsung has its own Note 10 Plus, released last year, which has a 6.8-inch display and an embedded S Pen stylus that allows you to access work-related features baked into the phone. Samsung’s biggest rival, Apple, also released the iPhone 11 Pro Max in September, and it boasts superb video recording skills and facial scanning. And while it doesn’t have as big a screen or as large a battery as the other phones, Google’s Pixel 4 XL is the most affordable of the bunch. It originally launched at $899, though discounts throughout the year have dropped the price from time to time.
For more on how the Galaxy S20 Ultra stacks up against its competitors, check out CNET’s spec chart below. You can also read how the phone compares to other Galaxy devices and learn how to purchase the Galaxy S20 phones. (Note the prices for some phones, like the Pixel 4 XL and Note 10 Plus are as they were at launch, not today.)

Galaxy S20 Ultra vs. rival phones
Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra
iPhone 11 Pro Max
Google Pixel 4 XL
Samsung Galaxy Note 10 Plus
Display size, resolution
6.9-inch AMOLED
6.5-inch OLED Super Retina XDR; 2,688×1,242 pixels
6.3-inch OLED; 1,440×3,040 pixels
6.8-inch AMOLED; 3,040×1,440 pixels
Pixel density
511ppi
458ppi
537ppi
498 ppi
Dimensions (inches)
2.99 x 6.57 x 0.35 in.
6.22 x 3.06 x 0.32 in.
2.9 x 6.3 x 0.3 in.
6.39 x 3.04 x 0.31 in.
Dimensions (millimeters)
76.0 x 166.9 x 8.8mm
158 x 77.8 x 8.1mm
75.1 x 160.4 x 8.2mm
162.3 x 77.2 x 7.9mm
Weight (ounces, grams)
7.76 oz.; 220g
7.97 oz.; 226g
6.8 oz.; 193g
6.91 oz.; 196g
Mobile software
Android 10
iOS 13
Android 10
Android 9.0 Pie
Camera
108-megapixel (wide-angle), 48-megapixel (telephoto), 12-megapixel (ultra-wide), time-of-flight camera
12-megapixel (wide), 12-megapixel (ultra-wide), 12-megapixel (telephoto)
12.2-megapixel (standard), 16-megapixel (telephoto)
12-megapixel (wide-angle), 16-megapixel (ultra wide-angle), 12-megapixel (telephoto), 3D depth (HQVGA)
Front-facing camera
40-megapixel
12-megapixel
8-megapixel
10-megapixel
Video capture
8K
4K
4K
4K
Processor
64-bit octa-core processor (Max 2.7GHz + 2.5GHz + 2.0GHz)
Apple A13 Bionic
2.84GHz octa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 855
Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 processor, or Samsung Exynos 9825
Storage
128GB, 512GB
64GB, 256GB, 512GB
64GB, 128GB
256GB, 512GB
RAM
12GB, 16GB
Not disclosed
6GB
12GB
Expandable storage
Up to 1TB
No
No
Up to 1TB
Battery
5,000 mAh
Not disclosed, but Apple claims it will last 5 hours longer than iPhone XS Max
3,700 mAh
4,300 mAh
Fingerprint sensor
USB-C
No (Face ID)
No
In-screen
Connector
USB-C
Lightning
USB-C
USB-C
Headphone jack
No
No
No
No
Special features
5G enabled; 120Hz refresh rate; 100x zoom; water resistant (IP68)
Water resistant (IP68); dual-SIM capabilities (nano-SIM and e-SIM); wireless charging
Soli motion sensing and touchless gestures; 90Hz display; water resistant (IP68); dual-SIM capabilities (nano-SIM and e-SIM); wireless charging
S Pen stylus; Wireless PowerShare; hole punch screen notch; water resistant (IP68)
Price off-contract (USD)
$1,399 (128GB)
$1,099 (64GB), $1,249 (256GB), $1,449 (512GB)
$899 (64GB), $999 (128GB)
$1,099
Price (GBP)
£1,199 (128GB), £1,399 (512GB)
£1,149 (64GB), £1,299 (256GB), £1,499 (512GB)
£829 (64GB), £929 (128GB)
£999
Price (AUD)
AU$1,999
AU$1,899 (64GB), AU$2,149 (256GB), AU$2,499 (512GB)
AU$1,279 (64GB), AU$1,429 (128GB)
AU$1,699
Article source: https://www.cnet.com/news/galaxy-s20-ultra-release-date-specs-vs-iphone-11-pro-max-pixel-4-xl-and-note-10-plus-camera/#ftag=CADe34d7bf
